top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAli North

poems for science

Updated: Feb 24, 2021

Up until recently my only real exposure to poetry was the in the form of a Whatsapp group in which all conversation had to occur in Haiku. Haikus are traditionally Japanese and consist of 3 lines in a 5, 7, 5 syllable pattern.


When the Lifeology platform announced that its July challenge would be focused on Science Poems, I was excited to give it a go! I quickly realised that poetry was an amazing way of practising science communication because it really made me critique and break down my messaging into it's most simplest form. It was also VERY different to any creative process I had been through before. I tried all sorts of poetic styles - from Limericks to Ballads - and enjoyed the way it made me think about my topic. The different rhyming/syllable patterns helped shape the words I ended up using, so a poem about the same general theme could end up being quite distinct between the different forms.


I began the challenge by returning to the trusty Haiku. I decided to write a string of them describing the process of a species invasion. Blackburn et al (2011) outline a framework defining an invasive species and the stages and barriers an individual must overcome before becoming invasive. To allow myself some creative license I simplified these down into the processes of introduction, surviving, reproducing and spreading. Since I'm studying the drivers and ecological consequences of alpine newt invasion in the UK for my PhD, this beautiful newt was the focus of my attention!


Next was an attempt at a ballad poem in a rhyming patterns of ABAB. I stuck to the same general topic of the invasion process and loved comparing the outcomes between the two styles. I also quite enjoyed the constraints of the rhyming process because I ended up using words and phrases I'd never think to use otherwise (gametes being seeded?! You what?!)

Lastly I decided to try a cheery limerick. This time I tried to describe the ecological niche and species distribution models that I'm currently utilising as a risk analysis for alpine newt invasion in the UK.

I had a lot of fun with this challenge and I've actually since started a sketchpad full of wildlife themed limericks (they're my fav). I didn't think I'd get that involved in this challenge but it turned out being a great creative outlet. I'd definitely recommend giving it a go! For science poetry inspiration, check out this AWESOME blog dedicated to conservation Haikus and some of the excellent science poems featured on the Lifeology blog here.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page